Lachlan Smart, The Youngest Person Ever To Fly Around The World Solo

Lachlan-Smart

This teenager from Queensland is now the youngest person to fly solo in a single aircraft around the world, his journey was 44,000 kilometers long and he made stops in 15 different countries.

 

Lachlan Smart is 18 years, 7 months and 21 days, he broke the record of 19 year old American Matt Guthmiller.

 

His journey started from Bundaberg and it took him two and a half years to complete it.

 

He had a great welcome when he landed, he said, “What a welcome. The support I have received from family, friends, the local Sunshine Coast council and community and people around the world that I have never even met has been incredible from the first moment we spoke about this journey.”

 

Regarding any issues during the journey he said, “There were no major failures of equipment … but I did have trouble with air traffic control coming out of Indonesia.

 

They would have run me into a mountain if I had gone with their instructions.

 

I stuck to my training pretty well and when I saw what they were going to try and send me through I thought, ‘They’ll be scraping me off the side of a mountain if I go that way’.”
During his journey he took a week off to visit family and for sightseeing in London.

Your Words About This Story

