Away from tennis Maria Sharapova is selling chocolate in America.

Chicago: Famous Russian tennis star Maria Sharapova has started her own confectionery company and has introduced a new range of chocolates named after her. She is facing a provisional ban on playing on tennis after she failed the doping test.
She arranged a ceremony in Chicago for the promotion of her new company, she is not participating in the second grand slam of the season, the French Open due to the ban. She said that this gives her the timely opportunity for the launch and promotion of her new confectionery company, she also did a photo shoot for the launch of her company.

Sharapova was banned due to the use of a restricted substance called meldonium which the she said she has been using for ten years for health reasons.The tennis star revealed that she had been tested positive during the Australian Open.

“I let my fans down, I let the sport down that I have been playing since the age of four and I love so deeply. I know with this I face consequences and I don’t want to end my career this way and I really hope I will be given another chance to play this game” said Maria Sharapova.

After failing the test at the Australian Open she gave her explanation by saying that, “For the past 10 years I have been given a medicine called mildronate by my family doctor and a few days ago after I received the ITF letter I found out that it also has another name of meldonium which I did not know. It is very important for you to understand that for 10 years this medicine was not on Wada’s banned list and I had legally been taking the medicine for the past 10 years. But on 1 January the rules had changed and meldonium became a prohibited substance which I had not known. I failed the test and I take full responsibility for it. I made a huge mistake.”

Your Words About This Story

